Focus Awards 2012 - April 17th

The 2012 Focus Awards were held on Tuesday, April 17th, at 6:00 p.m. at Apollo High School.

Senator Wendell H. Ford was recognized as our Distinguished Alumnus 2012.

Congratulations to our nine Focus Award 2012 Finalists:

Health Literacy Technology

Kelly Bland (East View) Gail Kirkland (DCHS) Andrea Head (Audubon)

Mike Duncan (Country Heights) Jennifer Smith (AHS) Misty Mitchell (Tamarack)

Lisa Yeiser (Southern Oaks) Leisa Wells (East View) Kara Westerfield (Southern Oaks)

The Foundation received 31 nominations from our schools, parents and students. Click to see nominee stories.

Senator Wendell H. Ford DC'42 accepts the Distinguished Alumnus award from Interim Superintendent Mike Gray.

Ford entertained more than 220 people with stories of his high school days.

Focus Award Health Finalist Kelly Bland (left) and Focus Award Grant Recipient Lisa Yeiser (right) display their awards.

Mike Duncan
Focus Award Finalist Mike Duncan stands as his nomination letter is read to attendees.

lit finalists
Focus Award Literacy Finalist Gail Kirkland (left), Grant Recipient Leisa Wells (center) and Finalist Jennifer Smith Richardson display their awards.

Click to see Ms. Wells' 3rd grade Literacy Day story. Ms. Wells used her grant funds to take third graders on a Literacy Day fieldtrip. Stops included Books-A-Million, where each student selected a book to take home, Chick-Fil-A for lunch and then on to the Daviess County Public Library.

Funding the Foundation's endowment through our Founders Society or Business Founders programs provide grants to empower teachers to provide the best education possible to DCPS students.

Focus Award Grant Recipient in Technology Andrea Head (left) and Finalist Kara Westerfield.
Misty Mitchell accepts her Focus Award Finalist award.